Who will be the owner of your social media account after your death?

owner of your social media account
owner of your social media account

It’s important to think about what happens to our digital selves after we die.

We have such a legacy on the web, dealing with that kind of an online presence should be well thought about.

For this, few individuals also make a digital estate plan, just like a physical will.

Here’s how you can prepare your major social media accounts for the inevitable.

Facebook

Facebook shows the word “Remembering” on a deceased user’s profile.

READ  રેલ મંત્રાલયે એક યુગલનો ફોટો ટ્વીટ કરીને કંઈક એવું લખ્યું કે લોકોએ ઉડાવી મજાક

A deceased user’s account on Facebook can be processed in three different ways: it can be memorialized, it can be deleted, and somebody can ask for downloading the contents of the account and then have it deleted.

While memorializing an account will turn it into a fan page or a digital shrine, deleting an account will permanently remove every information and data originating from that profile.

READ  ડીજીટલક્ષેત્રે ભારતની આ કંપનીએ Twitter અને Facebook જેવી દિગ્ગજ કંપનીઓને પણ પછાડી દીધી

Gmail and YouTube

Give Google data to someone who can protect/destroy it responsibly.

Google’s Inactive Account Manager allows you to specify whom should Google hand over your digital data to, after your account has been inactive for a specific length of time.

You can also set your account to be terminated 90 days after all the required information is shared.Alternatively, a family member can contact Google about a deceased user’s account and request specific items.

READ  સાવધાન ! 5 ફેબ્રુઆરીથી ગુજરાતમાં ઠપ્પ થઇ શકે છે ટ્રાન્સપોર્ટ સિસ્ટમ, 24 લાખથી વધુ યાત્રીઓને ખાવી પડી શકે છે દર-દરની ઠોકરો

Twitter

Appears like Twitter hasn’t given this much thought yet.

Shockingly, Twitter does not have a way for managing with expired users’ accounts in its policy yet.

However, if a verified family member or a digital executor reaches with Twitter regarding the death of a client, the platform will deactivate the account, and also remove the user’s image upon request.

FB Comments